2017 Speakers

PALC Programs 2016-2017

October 17, 2016
Dr. Jeffrey A. Engel
Founding Director
SMU Center For Presidential History
“You’re Fired! You’re Hired!”

November 21, 2016
Jim Gatewood
Texas Historian, Author, Professor
“The JFK Assassination-A Mafia Hit”

January 16, 2017
Dale A. Petroskey
President and CEO
Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce
“Building Tomorrow Together”

February 20, 2017
Scott Murray
Multi Emmy Award Winning Sports Anchor & Broadcast Journalist, NBC From U.S. Presidents to U.S. Opens, World Cup, Olympic Games, Super Bowls—he’s covered them all.
“The Right Stuff”

More Information

March 20, 2017
Hon. Joseph M. Cox

Former State District Judge
Partner, Bracewell LLP
“Why the Case Law Our Courts Put Out Is Important (and Some Texas Cases You Need To Know)”

April 17, 2017
The Honorable Nathan L. Hecht
Chief Justice Texas Supreme Court
“Changes in the Texas Justice System”

May 15, 2017
Dr. Bobby B. Lyle
President & CEO
Founder and Chairman
Lyco Holdings, Incorporated
“Relationships Matter—Part II”

The Importance of Relationships”
Bobby Lyle’s multifaceted career has touched industries as diverse as oil & gas, education and real estate development.  He will reflect on the importance of relationships in the development of one of the largest oil fields in North America, the Bakken in Montana and North Dakota; the Dallas Galleria, one of Dallas’ iconic mixed-use real estate developments; and both the Cox School of Business and Lyle School of Engineering at SMU.  He will also describe one of the most exciting projects ever undertaken by the Dallas based Texas Trees Foundation, an organization that he has chaired for over two decades. 
Plan on attending the May meeting of The Public Affairs Luncheon Club during which we will introduce our Scholarship Recipient. We also will vote on next year’s Board of Directors. 

Past Speakers


October 19 - John Crawford
President & CEO
Downtown Dallas,Inc.

November 16 - Steven Bullitt
Assistant Special Agent in Charge
North Texas Electronic Crimes Task Force
United States Secret Service

January 18 - Dr. Kern Wildenthal
President, Children's Medical Center Foundation
President Emeritus,
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

February 15 - Dr. R. Gerald Turner
President, Southern Methodist University

March 21 - James M. Moroney III
Chairman, President & CEO
A. H. Belo,
Publisher & CEO, Dallas Morning News

April 18 - Jim Falk
President & CEO of World Affairs Council of Dallas/Ft. Worth
May 16 - Bobby Lyle
CEO & President of SMU's Edwin L Cox School of Business